To succeed in life, succeed in being yourself. – Napoleon Hill

IMG_6832web12

There must be truth in this quote which is almost like a fact at least to me. Well I may not be the most famous, wealthiest, healthiest and whatever form highest success is known. What is important for me is that I could feel and own success in life and that is at the core success in being myself. I couldn’t remember when I made this resolve ‘to live my own life’ but I just know that every time I am tempted or forced to be someone else I’m not, I’m killing myself. And I ran out of breath. Thus I know I am myself, when I’m most alive.

I remember during my elementary graduation, my shabby chic aunt tried to do my make-up which I really did not like. Everybody in the family respected her and I was forced to wear it to show courtesy. I was so sure I don’t like it and started to erase the make up while the rest of my family were disappointed by my rude actions and started teasing me ugly while I smudge my make-up alongside my tears. In my mind, I know it is my graduation, not hers and not theirs. It is not that I was not thankful for my aunt but I just honestly think I looked like a horrible ragged doll in that make-up. I made my decision to erase the make-up but everybody in the house did not respect my decision. My heart was heavy and my face was pale when I rose up to the stage for my diploma and honors. But well now I could laugh and I’m relieved now to see my elementary graduation photo with almost no make-up because I respect myself for being awesome in standing with my decision.

That’s just one of the many instances in my growth and journey in life where I stood for myself and my decision. Many more challenging instances I encountered with those people (loved ones included) who tried to label me for example as impolite, insolent, insubordinate, stubborn, impatient and unbending just because I chose to be myself. I dust off myself of these. I know inside me that I am a respectful, delightful, faithful, patient and versatile person.

IMG_6832web14

In the hype of a generation where  myriads of brands, models and visuals preaching who and what one should be, it is easy to lose oneself even in the midst of a well-known “selfie” phenomenon- lost in identity, in values and in one’s unique destiny.

So how does one master the art of being oneself. Here are some tests written originally by a well-respected author Napoleon Hill: When you walk into a restaurant, do you order what you like to eat or do you listen to waiter’s suggestions? When you go to a clothing store, do you pick up the clothes you like or do you listen to the saleslady? These are few situations where you can take notice of yourself and see your decisions to be yourself.

Deeper into issues of life, be yourself by not allowing anyone bribe you away from being yourself (noble values you stand for), let self-control give you strength (manage your emotions not others), never interfere with anyone else’s possession of himself (unless help asked by others who help themselves) and master your own mind (this is clear!).

We often refer to that famous Psalm 139:14, when we think of how unique and wonderful Creator God made us. Now is the time not only to read that but to live that,
I will praise You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Marvelous are Your works,
And that my soul knows very well.” The psalmist goes on saying in the same chapter here that all the days of our life are already written before ever one came to be. Hence, let us live the life designed uniquely for us. And by our Maker’s guidance and grace become successful in being our unique selves.

So friend, how are you being yourself? Let me know in the comments section below. 🙂

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Success in Being Yourself

  1. Well, yes, its always a tough call to listen to our heart while others being against it. But being true to ourselves has utmost importance of all.
    Indeed, this is a wonderful post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment